Sold Out

Carb On Carb – For Ages LP


Out of stock

Label: Black Wire Records
Cat#: BWR-27
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album
Released: 4 May 2018
Notes: Edition of 250, limited edition of 100 pale green.

A1 Fake Meat / Real Friends
A2 It’s Been A Rough Year
A3 Home Again 2
A4 Man Says
A5 Nicole’s Express
B1 Ma
B2 Overcompensate
B3 Annual Leave
B4 Extended Family
B5 Mitimiti

CARB ON CARB, Auckland, New Zealand’s resident emotive-punk duo, are releasing their sophomore album for ages on May 4th with celebrated Australian label Black Wire Records.

Working with emo heavyweight mix engineer Chris Teti (The World Is A Beautiful Place & I Am No Longer Afraid To Die), Nicole Gaffney (vocals, guitar) and James Stutely (drums) have crafted a cohesive, heart-on-sleeve record. Nicole draws vocal inspiration from varied sources, with melodies and delivery that encompass the passion of emo and the powerful softness of RnB. Backed by her alternate-tuning full-strum guitar style, and James Stutely’s distinctive drumming, the result is altogether energetic and memorable. The album was recorded by Dylan Adams at his Coogee Beach studio in Sydney and mastered by Dan Coutant in New York.

Across 10 tracks the band explores many common preoccupations, with humour but also heart,  as song titles like Fake Meat/Real Friends suggest. They examine resilience, what home is when you’re constantly moving, what teenage dreams mean in your mid-twenties, competing work and life pressures, and the personal as political. Crushing album closer Mitimiti is a love letter of sorts to both New Zealand and friendship, ending with the simple but heartfelt “giving me a chance/to learn who you are/people who mean the most.” Through the course of for ages these threads are drawn together into the concept of continual coming of age as an inspiring way to constantly redefine yourself.


You may also like…