Sold Out

Diploid – Glorify LP


Out of stock

Label: Black Wire Records, Lacklustre Records, Art As Catharsis
Cat#: BWR-37
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album
Released: 22 Nov 2019
Notes: Limited edition of 200

A1 Intrusive
A2 One-Minute Cure
A3 Less
A4 A Natural Death
A5 Daisy’s Red Room
A6 Glorify
A7 No Funeral
A8 Homicidal Art
B1 Growing, Learning
B2 Skin Separation
B3 No Current Present
B4 Mind Like Clouds, Yet It’s Storming
B5 Dissolve Myself
B6 Grandiose Delusions
B7 The Narrator of Suicide

“I am wanting to lie down on the warm ground with my eye closed and the smell of mud in my nose… I am wanting to feel how the ground is wet all around my body so if I am sweating, I am feeling like it is the ground sweating through me. And I am wanting to stay in this same place forever, never moving for anything, just waiting waiting until dust is piling on me and grasses is covering me and insect is making their home in the space between my teeths.” – Uzodinma Iweala, Beasts of No Nation, 2005

DIPLOID are Mariam Benjemaa (guitar, vocals, noise, bowed guitar, synth), Reece Prain (bass, vocals, drum machine, sampler, synth, noise, percussion), Dan New (drums). Additional instrumentation: Claire Westover (violin), Jamie Colic (spring verb/noise), Peter Hyde (vocals)

Recorded by Chris Brownbill and Jamie Colic. Mixed by Chris Brownbill. Mastered By Carl Saff. Recorded between June 12th – 16th, 2019. This album was recorded at the Aviary Recording studio which stands on stolen Wurundjeri Land

We acknowledge and pay our respect to the Wurundjeri people of the Kulin Nation, whose relationship with the land extends back tens of thousands of years and whose history, language, culture and art have been destroyed by the white colonisation of so-called Australia. We pay our respects to Indigenous elders and leaders past, present and emerging. This always was, and always will be Aboriginal land

You may also like…