Mere Women – Big Skies LP


In stock

Label: Poison City Records
Cat#: PCR140LP
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album
Released: 16 Jun 2017

A1 Eternally
A2 Silver And Gold
A3 Birthday
A4 Big Skies
A5 Curse
A6 Drive
B1 Visitor
B2 Is This Real?
B3 Comeback
B4 Numb
B5 Tin Rooves
B6 Wanderer

“one of the most creative acts coming out of Sydney right now” – Eat This Music

“a frantic palette of panic… Wilson’s commanding vocals rise above as the centrepiece, covering a spectrum from shrill to operatic” – Rolling Stone

“Played with precision into ancient caverns, its sounds return exhilarating and weighty.” – The Autumn Roses

“The 12 tracks which make up Big Skies explore themes of women’s experiences over generations and the simultaneous isolation and confinement felt by many women living in regional communities. From ‘Eternally’, to the almost operatic, key-driven ‘Curse’ – a track which could serve partly as an interlude, whilst creating the perfect precursor from where to launch into ‘Drive’ – and stunning album closer ‘Wanderer’, the tracks express feelings of being penned in, chained to family responsibilities and being unable to break away from tradition. The songs are haunting, restless and impeccably composed. A claustrophobic journey through wide open spaces.” – Poison City