Sold Out

Ultra Material – Double Date LP


Out of stock

Label: Black Wire Records
Cat#: BWR-09
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album
Released: 2016
Notes: Limited edition of 150.

A1 Eraser
A2 Artshow
A3 Crash
A4 Drop
B1 Summit
B2 Nothing Is Lost
B3 Heat
B4 Pleased To Meet You

ULTRA MATERIAL are Zuzana Kovar (synthesizer), Nick Skepper (guitar & vocals), Sarah Deasy (bass & vocals), Matt Deasy (drums). Recorded by Donovan Miller at Nowhere Audio April-Dec 2015. Mastering by Lawrence English at Room 158. LP jackets are hand screen printed in a 3 colour process print by No.7 Print House in Brisbane, Australia. It also includes a screen print insert on heavy card stock in 3 different colour variations.

“The sound of your summer is sorted, thanks to the arrival of Ultra Material’s debut LP, Double Date;. Released just as spring finally arrived in the UK, this is a big record from the Brisbane-based band – in its ambition, accomplishment and scale. It sounds fantastic – each element of this sometimes densely-layered creation is clear, reverberating in its own space. In this genre, that’s quite an achievement and it certainly help set it apart. But, it’s the quirks that really make this one stick in the parietal lobe. The tightly-timed female incantation on opener 'Eraser', the tricksy riffage of 'Art Show' (doffing my cap to drummer Matt here), the total rushing joy of 'Crash' all signal that this is gaze on a higher plane. Drop seems to have an otherworldly choir providing the beautiful bedrock. Always avoiding the obvious, Sarah swoons through a vocal melody that veers off into minor keys here are and there. The bass starts off as the star in 'Summit', the centrepiece of the record. But before long, the guitars, shimmering cymbals and atmospheric synths sounds pile up like layers and layers of sparkly quartz to create a huge track, one worthy of a name referencing mountains. But that’s just the start – the tone darkens, the propulsion increases, and that vocal melody. It’s a stomach flipping combination. We first hear a male voice on 'Nothing is Lost', adding an interesting new texture. Drowned in reverb, the track emanates an unspecified melancholy, but maintains momentum with a super-fuzzy lead guitar line pushing it all along. Heat takes its time to reveal itself, a hazy vision. The drums open, pounding and insistent. The guitar is floaty and spare, the delayed vocals disorientate dreamily. 'Pleased to Meet You' (which also features on last year’s EP) is where we hear the influences of past shoegazers most powerfully. But as we’ve now come to expect, those MBV-esque sounds are slowed, warped and shaped into something else. Something Ultra Material.” – Primal Music