Oily Boys – Cro Memory Grin LP


In stock

Label: Static Shock Records
Cat#: SSR081
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album
Released: 4 Dec 2020
Notes: UK import version of sold out LP on Cool Death Records. Blue marbled vinyl.

A1 Given
A2 Headstone
A3 C.B.D.
A4 My Sex Life
A5 Lizard Scheme
A6 Heat Harmony
A7 Stick Him
B1 Cro Memory Grin
B2 Blue Batman
B3 Kiss The Rat
B4 Green Piece
B5 Cabramaverick
B6 GTrance

“Chthonic, catatonic, chronic…

Cro Memory Grin is a masterpiece. Thirteen turbocharged tracks indebted to the pleasures and pitfalls of their lives in the modern city of Sydney and to the the first and second waves of international extreme music freaks and loonies: pure fucking aggression. The Oily Boys have graced us with a beast of an album that swells between direct, gripping, tangible hardcore punk and near nauseating psychedelia and throb which at moments feels like either ritual trance or a nervous breakdown. Cro Memory Grin contains near equal measures of tension and release; an exercise in high catharsis.

It’s rare that a punk record can give the listener anywhere near the same intoxicating feel of an “everything louder than everything else” live show, but that’s what Oily Boys have done. That lightning in a bottle feeling of excitement, chaotic energy, delirium, presence in a moment and frenzied flight into a mind state both frightening and ecstatic.

The stone has been carved, the fire has been lit, and this is it… Cro. Memory. Grin.” – Cool Death